# Report Council



# Part 1

Date: 29 September 2020

- Subject Appointments
- **Purpose** To agree the appointment of Council nominees to committees and outside bodies.
- Author Governance Team Leader
- Ward General
- **Summary** In accordance with its terms of reference within the Constitution, Council is responsible for appointing the members of Council Committees, and the Council's representatives on outside bodies. The current vacancies and nominations received are set out in the attached report.
- **Proposal** Council is asked to receive and approve the nominations for representatives, as listed in the report
- Action by Governance Team Leader
- Timetable Immediate

This report was prepared after consultation with:

- Council Business Managers
- Head of Law and Regulation

## Background

In accordance with its terms of reference within the Constitution, Council is responsible for appointing the members of Council Committees, and the Council's representatives on outside bodies. The current vacancies and nominations received are set out below.

Any vacant appointments / nominations received after the publication of this report, will be announced at the Council meeting by the appropriate Business Manager or Group Leader.

## Internal Appointments

## None

#### **Appointments to External Organisations**

Organisation	No. of Vacancies / Replacements	Nominations Received
Business Improvement District	1	Councillor D Harvey to replace the Leader

#### **Governing Body Appointments**

Organisation	Nominations Received	Number of Vacancies/Replacements
Malpas C/W Primary School	Andrea Mulcahy	Re-appoint
St Josephs RC High School	David Fouweather	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Terynon Welsh Medium School	David Fouweather	End term of office
Mount Pleasant School	Dilwyn Gurney	Appoint as LA governor
Temporary Governing Body - Welsh Medium School	Sheereen Williams	4 / Information only
Temporary Governing Body - Welsh Medium School	Cllr Tracey Holyoake	4 / Information only
Temporary Governing Body - Welsh Medium School	Cllr Jason Hughes	4 / Information only
Glasllwch Primary School	Matthew Evans	Re-appoint
Llanwern High School	Ray Truman	Re-appoint
Alway Primary School	Ray Truman	Re-appoint
Bassaleg School	Margaret Cornelious	Re-appoint
Pentrepoeth Primary School	Margaret Cornelious	Re-appoint
Crindau Primary School	Paul Cockeram	Re-appoint
Kimberley Nursery School	Paul Cockeram	Re-appoint
High Cross Primary School	Sally Mlewa	Re-appoint
Jubilee Park Primary School	Sally Mlewa	Re-appoint
Langstone Primary School	Ray Mogford	Re-appoint
Caerleon Comprehensive School	Ray Mogford	Re-appoint
Llanmartin Primary School	Martyn Kellaway	Re-appoint
Glan Llyn Primary School	Martyn Kellaway	Re-appoint
Llanmartin Primary School	John Davies	Re-appoint
Llanwern High School	Ray Truman	Re-appoint

Eveswell and Somerton Primary School		
Partnership	John Guy	Re-appoint
Llanwern High School	John Guy	Re-appoint
Lliswerry High School	Kenneth Critchley	Re-appoint
St Andrews Primary School	Kenneth Critchley	Re-appoint
Maindee Primary School	Majid Rahman	Re-appoint
Maes Ebbw Primary School	Majid Rahman	Re-appoint
Malpas C/W Primary School	Andrea Mulcahy	Re-appoint
Malpas Court Primary School	Jane Mudd	Re-appoint
Newport High School	Jane Mudd	Re-appoint
Marshfield Primary School	Thomas Suller	Re-appoint
Monnow Primary School	Valerie Delahaye	Re-appoint
Mount Pleasant Primary School	Stephen Bowen	Re-appoint
Malpas Court Primary School	Stephen Bowen	Re-appoint
Mount Pleasant Primary School	Kelly Jones	Re-appoint
Monnow Primary School	Kelly Jones	Re-appoint
Newport High School	David Mayer	Re-appoint
Newport High School	Valerie Delahaye	Re-appoint
Gaer Primary School	Valerie Delahaye	Re-appoint
St Davids RC Primary Schoolt	David Hutchings	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Teyrnon Welsh Medium School	David Hutchings	Re-appoint
St Josephs RC High School	Mark Whitcutt	Re-appoint
St Woolos Primary School	Miqdad Al-Nuaimi	Re-appoint
St Woolos Primary School	Kate Thomas	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gyfun Gwent Is Coed Welsh Medium School	John Harris	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gyfun Gwent Is Coed Welsh Medium School	Elin Maher	Re-appoint
Llanwern High School	Elin Maher	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gyfun Gwent Is Coed Welsh Medium School	Christopher Chapman	Re-appoint
St Josephs RC High School	Christopher Chapman	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Teyrnon Welsh Medium School	Shereen Williams	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gymraeg Ifor Hael Welsh Medium School	Olwen Allender	Re-appoint
Ysgol Gymraeg Ifor Hael Welsh Medium School	Glyn Jarvis	Re-appoint

## Proposal

Council is asked to receive and approve the nominations for representatives, as listed in the report.

## **Comments of Chief Financial Officer**

There are no financial implications directly arising from this report.

## **Comments of Monitoring Officer**

The appointment of individuals to serve on outside bodies is a Local Choice function under the Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Functions and Responsibilities) (Wales) Regulations 2007. The Council has determined that responsibility for this function shall rest with Full Council unless delegated by the Council.

## **Background Papers**

Newport City Council Constitution Local Authorities (Executive Arrangements) (Functions and Responsibilities) (Wales) Regulations 2007

Dated: 22 September 2020